• IMPORTANT: The Buy/Sell forums are now for reference only; all shops are closed here. Please visit the new Marketplace for active buying and selling. Old sellers can access their previous shop links in these forums for setting up new shops in the Marketplace.

Open In Need of Competitive Help

OmegaRend

Youngster Joey
Credits
So I'm a little new to wanting to do competitive battles and rating battles. Right now I only have 5 pokemon I would like on my team and currently have. I need help with a 6th member and how to get started in rating battles.

Current team:
Bisharp (Physical Sweeper) 252 ATK/252 Spe/4 HP
Ability: Defiant Item: Dread Plate
Moveset: Knock Off, Swords Dance, Iron Head, Shadow Claw

Clefable (Mixed Wall) 252 HP/160 Def/96 SpD
Ability: Magic Guard Item: Shell Bell
Moveset: Drain Punch, Dazzling Gleam, Flamethrower, Calm Mind

Lopunny (Physical Sweeper/Lead) 252 Atk/252 Spe/4 HP
Ability: Cute Charm Item: Luponnite
Moveset: Charm, Ice Punch, Return, High Jump Kick

Latios (Special Attacker) 252 SpA/252 Spe/4SpD
Ability: Levitate Item: Soothe Bell
Moveset: Psyshock, Earthquake, Roost, Fly

Vaporeon (Special Wall) 252 HP/252 SpD/4 SpA
Ability: Water Absorb Item: Leftovers
Moveset: Aqua Ring, Toxic, Scald, Ice Beam

Japas

Youngster Joey
Credits
- I don´t see Drain Punch doing much good on a pokémon with no Atk investment, STAB or Atk buffs. I use Drain Punch on my bulky Hypno, but that´s after he´s gotten +6 atk through Psych Up (I mostly play doubles).
- Nobody uses Aqua Ring; On Vaporeon in particular, since it has such a good HP stat, Wish would be preferable.
- I´ve never seen Bisharp have any kind of success on a competitive team, I suspect because of its unfortunate defensive typing; It´s the kind of pokémon that´ll only really work if you build your team around it (or you get lucky, I guess)
- Your Latios has Fly. Never carry Fly on a competitive pokémon, especially if it´s a special attacker.