• IMPORTANT: The Buy/Sell forums are now for reference only; all shops are closed here. Please visit the new Marketplace for active buying and selling. Old sellers can access their previous shop links in these forums for setting up new shops in the Marketplace.

Advice on a triples team

appoh

Pokémon Trainer
Credits
Would you guys say that stealth rocks is viable when it comes to triple battles? Been considering using Golem as a stealth rock/explosion with a normal gem on him as my middle for triples and then using a ghost and protect on the sides. viable?

EliteFourCronos

Pokémon Champion
Credits
Would you guys say that stealth rocks is viable when it comes to triple battles? Been considering using Golem as a stealth rock/explosion with a normal gem on him as my middle for triples and then using a ghost and protect on the sides. viable?
While the strategy looks good on paper, Golem's many weaknesses make it not so great for a middle spot on a Triples team. I'm no expert on Triple Battling, but I know a weak link when I see one. Also, be aware that if you consider running Ghost-types and Protect on your team, your opponent likely has the same tricks up their sleeve. Also, I would recommend Stealth Rocks only if you plan to have a setup where your opponent will be likely to switch out, such as running very powerful and fast Pokemon on the sides that can take care of your opponent's Pokemon that are also on the side slots. Hope this helps :)

appoh

Pokémon Trainer
Credits
OH MY GOODNESS! you are right! I never really thought of it that way man! I think your solution for running some fast and powerful on sides could protect golem in a way. The point was just to use him as a martyr to see what I can do after that, possibly kill 1-3 right off the bat and give me an advantage. I think this strategy has some potential I just need to work on it a bit. It is kind of predictable though (imo) but maybe that's the mind game I can play

EliteFourCronos

Pokémon Champion